HIKM 2016


The 9th Australasian Workshop on Health Informatics and Knowledge Management (HIKM 2016) was held at the Australian National University, Canberra, 2-5 February 2016.

HIKM is an established forum for academic research in the area of computing in support of healthcare delivery and is held annually as part of Australasian Computer Science Week. The co-chairs for 2016 are Anthony Maeder, UWS and Trish Williams, ECU.

Use and integration of computing in healthcare:

  • biomedical devices and systems
  • biotechnology and bioinformatics
  • clinical decision support
  • conceptual models and architectures for health information systems
  • consumer information systems
  • design and implementation for new models of care
  • electronic health records and personal health records
  • evaluation of clinical applications and systems
  • health informatics education
  • mobile platforms and BYOD in healthcare
  • online and web interventions in healthcare

Data science and analysis for healthcare:

  • knowledge discovery, data mining and visualization
  • health information management
  • health workflow management
  • interoperability protocols, terminologies, and ontologies
  • standards for healthcare computing and health data
  • use and quality of health data collections and registries, data linkage and integration
  • modelling spatial / temporal / biological data
  • privacy / security issues
  • public and population large and big dataset predictive analysis and surveillance
  • telemedicine and remote healthcare services


HIKM 2016 Flyer:

Downloadable pdf flyer for HIKM.

HIKM 2016 Programme Committee:

Anthony Maeder, University of Western Sydney
Trish Williams, Edith Cowan University (co-chairs)

Jim Basilakis, University of Western Sydney
David Bunker, National eHealth Transition Authority
Kerryn Butler-Henderson, University of Tasmania
Sisira Edirippulige, University of Queensland
Andrew Georgiou, Macquarie University
Kathleen Gray, University of Melbourne
Leif Hanlen, NICTA Canberra Research Laboratory
David Hansen, CSIRO Australian eHealth Research Centre
Inga Hunter, Massey University
Mary Lam, University of Sydney
Vincent McCauley, HL7 Australia
Dave Parry, Auckland University of Technology
Tony Sahama, Queensland University of Technology
Jeffrey Soar, University of Southern Queensland
Jan Stanek, University of South Australia
Alan Taylor, Flinders University
Jim Warren, University of Auckland
Ping Yu, Univerity of Wollongong